TERRA -可持续发展馆

Terra – 可持续发展馆于2021年10月向公众开放,是2020年迪拜世博会的三大景点之一。由Grimshaw建筑师设计,该馆的可持续性驱动因素是净零能耗和水。

在迪拜的恶劣环境中,夏季温度可达到50摄氏度,遮阳是由一个130米宽的主屋顶雨棚和地面下的住宿设施提供。超过6000平方米的单晶硅光伏电池被嵌入到天棚的玻璃板中。这些电池和玻璃外壳使展馆能够利用太阳能,同时为居住者提供遮阳和采光。在展馆的中心,一个庭院通过利用盛行的凉风和阻挡恶劣的风,为游客提供了一个被动冷却的空间。

英海特于2017年9月被立面承包商JML任命,进行所有电缆立面系统的结构设计和工程,包括IGU玻璃和定制贴片配件。该项目于2019年底完成。

Justin Nieuwoudt“范围包括主要的内部庭院和大厅入口,其中电缆立面横跨玻璃前庭。英海特后来被指定设计和设计用于拉伸电缆的顶升系统,并在安装和测试期间进行现场监督。

“我们的客户对电缆外墙系统的结果非常满意,特别是对帮助实现项目的创新工程设计印象深刻。能够参与这样一个有着极其复杂的工程问题的标志性项目,我感到非常荣幸。”
Justin Nieuwoudt, 高级幕墙工程师

电缆幕墙系统案例研究

电缆幕墙系统是由预紧电缆组成的,根据电缆的跨度和位置不同,电缆的直径也不同,预紧电缆通过一个双相不锈钢支架固定在混凝土下部结构上。

在设计和工程过程中,必须考虑以下要求,以提供一个符合我们客户愿景的系统。
. 建筑要求
. 建筑物维护要求
. 建筑物的移动和电缆的差异变形
. 负载情况考虑
. 电缆的结构分析
. 顶升过程的分期

建筑方面

在立面和平面上,外墙都是弯曲的,由于电缆的长度和直径不同,增加了设计和建筑运动的复杂性。长度上的差异会造成电缆之间的不同挠度的问题。建筑师指定的电缆系统是通过底座支架进行夹套(张紧),与更典型的通过转扣系统进行张紧的方法相比,这大大增加了安装的难度。建筑师的意图导致了一个更优雅、更令人愉悦的系统,因为电缆是不间断的,消失在地板和檐口中。

建筑物维护要求

随着时间的推移,由于建筑物的移动、热膨胀和蠕变等外部因素,电缆的张力会降低。客户要求在25年内不对该系统进行重新张紧。我们的分析通过考虑特定时期内的建筑运动、蠕变和热膨胀量,允许这样做。在制造阶段对电缆进行了预拉伸,以限制使用期间的应变量,并根据历史测试数据对预期应变值进行了建议。

可以说,最重要的考虑因素是建筑运动。英海特进行了全面的建筑运动评估,与结构工程师联系,以了解一旦大的张力负荷施加到电缆上,支持混凝土结构将如何表现。要求结构工程师提供以下信息。

1) 短期徐变
2) 长期徐变
3) 叠加恒荷载
4) 叠加活荷载
5) 立柱缩短

这是一个反复的过程,因为建筑物的移动量与电缆的张力直接相关,反之亦然。工程师们必须考虑由于电缆长度和直径的不同而导致的电缆的不同挠度(电缆直径较小,跨度较小)。这是一个非常重要的方面,因为中空玻璃单元被限制在它可能经历的翘曲量上。

负载案例的考虑

通常情况下,在对一个幕墙系统进行结构分析时,人们会考虑到恒荷载、风荷载、外加活荷载、外加恒荷载和地震荷载。该系统的设计要考虑到预期的建筑运动和热膨胀,以便不影响幕墙系统的结构完整性。对于电缆幕墙,结构分析必须考虑建筑运动和热膨胀的影响,因为它降低了电缆内的拉力,从而降低了系统的容量。出于这个原因,所有的负载情况也考虑了建筑运动和热膨胀。

电缆的结构分析

英海特使用Strand 7有限元分析软件通过非线性分析对整个电缆幕墙进行了全面的结构分析。该软件允许英海特公司进行以下修改,这有助于提高分析的准确性。
1) 修改电缆的机械性能以符合供应商的测试数据。
2) 对模型施加预拉伸载荷,模拟实际载荷条件。
3) 移动电缆的顶部连接点,模拟建筑物的移动。

以下输出参数被用来评估和确认电缆直径和预紧力设置的适宜性。
1) 每条电缆的应力输出。
2) 每根电缆的整体挠度。
3)相邻两根电缆之间的差异性挠度,以进一步分析每个IGU的翘曲情况。

结构计算是在专业报告中准备的,并在制造开始前提交给第三方外墙顾问审查和批准。

  • 服务范围
    幕墙检查和评估
  • 地点
    阿联酋迪拜
  • 业主
    JML
  • 建筑师
    GRIMSHAW

Terra – The Sustainability Pavilion

Terra – The Sustainability Pavilion opened to the public in October 2021 as one of the top three attractions of the Expo 2020 Dubai. Designed by Grimshaw architects, the sustainability drivers for the pavilion were net zero energy and water.

In Dubai’s harsh environment where summer temperatures can reach 50 deg C, shading was provided by a 130m wide main roof canopy and below-ground accommodation. More than 6,000 sqm of monocrystalline photovoltaic cells are embedded in the canopy’s glass panels. These cells and the glass casing allow the pavilion to harness solar energy while providing shade and daylighting to the occupants. At the centre of the pavilion a courtyard provides a passively cooled space for visitors by using the prevailing cool breezes and blocking harsh winds.

Inhabit was appointed by façade contractor JML in September 2017 to carry out the structural design and engineering of all cable façades systems including the IGU glass and custom patch fittings. The project was completed at the end of 2019.

Justin Nieuwoudt“The scope included the main internal courtyard and lobby entrances where the cable façade spanned over glazed vestibules. Inhabit was later appointed to design and engineer the jacking system for tensioning the cables, and site supervision during installation and testing.

Our client was very happy with the outcome of the cable façade system and especially impressed with the innovative engineering design that helped deliver the project. It was a privilege to be part of such an iconic project with extremely complex engineering problems.”
Justin Nieuwoudt, Senior Façade Consultant

CABLE FAÇADE SYSTEM CASE STUDY

The cable façade system is made up of a pre-tension cable with varying cable diameter depending on the span and location of the cable, the pre-tensioned cable is fixed back to concrete substructure by means of a duplex stainless-steel bracket.

The following requirements had to be considered in the design and engineering process to deliver a system that met our client’s vision;
. Architectural requirements
. Building maintenance requirements
. Building movement and cable differential deflection
. Load case consideration
. Structural analysis of cables
. Staging of jacking process

Architectural

In both elevation and plan the façade is curved, increasing the complexity of design and building movement as the cables were different in length and diameter. The difference in length would cause issues with differential deflections between cables. The architect specified a cable system that was jacket (tensioned) through the base bracket, which significantly increased the difficulty of installation compared to the more typical method of tensioning through a turn buckle system. The architectural intent resulted in a more elegant and ecstatically
pleasing system as the cable is uninterrupted and disappears into the floor and soffit.

Building Maintenance Requirement

Over time the tension in the cable reduces due to external factors such as building movement, thermal expansion and creep. The client requested no re-tensioning of the system to be done for 25 years. Our analysis allowed for this by considering the amount of building movement, creep and thermal expansion for the specified period. The cables were pre-tensioned during
the manufacturing phase to limit the amount of strain during the in-service life and advised on expected strain values based on historic test data.

Arguably the most important factor to consider is the building movement. Inhabit carried out a comprehensive building movement assessment liaising with the structural engineer to understand exactly how the supporting concrete structure will behave once the large tension loads are applied to the cable. The following information was requested from the structural engineer:
1) Short-term creep
2) Long-term creep
3) Superimposed dead load
4) Superimposed live load
5) Column shortening

This was an iterative process as the amount of building movement was directly related to the cable tensioning and vice versa. The engineers had to consider the differential deflection of the cables due to a difference in cable length and diameter (cable diameter is smaller where spans were smaller). This is a very important aspect as the insulated glass unit was limited in the amount by the amount of warp it could experience.

Load Case Consideration

Typically, one would look at the dead load, wind load, imposed live load, imposed dead load and seismic load when doing the structural analysis for a façade system. The system would be designed in such a way that the expected building movement and thermal expansion is accommodated in the connections so that it does not affect the structural integrity of the façade system. With cable facades the structural analysis must consider the effect of building movement and thermal expansion as it reduces the tension force within the cable and therefore the capacity of the system. For this reason, all load cases also considered building movement and thermal expansion.

Structural Analysis of Cables

Inhabit carried out a comprehensive structural analysis of the full cable façade using Strand 7 finite element analysis software by means of a non-linear analysis. The software allowed the Inhabit make the following modifications which assisted in the accuracy of the analysis:
1) Modify the cable mechanical properties to match the suppliers test data;
2) Apply a pre-tension load to the model simulating actual loading conditions;
3) Move the top connection point of the cable simulating building movement.
The following output parameters were used to assess and confirm the suitability of the cable diameter and pre-tension setting:
1) Stress output of each cable;
2) Global deflection of each cable;
3) Differential deflection between 2 adjacent cables, to further analyse the warp of each IGU

The structural calculations were prepared in a professional report and submitted to a third-party façade consultant for review and approval before fabrication could commence.

  • Scope
    FAÇADE CONSULTING
  • Location
    DUBAI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
  • Client
    JML
  • Architect
    GRIMSHAW